Environmental Commission

You are here

Mission & Background

Fair Lawn’s Environmental Commission was created in 1982 by Municipal Ordinance. (Part I, Chapter 2, Article XVIII, Section 2-102). It is charged with protection, development, and use of natural resources located within the Borough. The volunteer members of our Commission have diverse backgrounds, such as the health professions, environmental sciences, computer science and life science. All have an arch interest in protecting our natural and physical environment. 


Meetings are held at 7:30 in the Municipal Building in room 201. All meetings are on the first Wednesday of each month. Everyone is welcome to attend. 

January 6 July 7
February 3 August 4
March 3 September 1  
April 7 October 6
May 5 November 3
June 2 December 1

Role of the Environmental Commission is to:

  • Protect & Improve the environment in the community
  • Through policies, compliment state & federal efforts to assure protection of air, water, land, wildlife & special protection areas
  • Act as a watchdog in the enforcement of State environmental laws & for contaminated site cleanups
  • Inform & educate residents & act as a conduit between the public & elected officials
  • Provide the Governing Body with a Municipal Environmental Resource Inventory (ERI), public liaison, advise & communicate with State & County agencies
  • Help implement preservation & enforcement programs to forestall costly remedial actions
  • Advocate for acquisition of open space & parks


To report an Environmental Abuse (ie - spill, fire, illegal dumping, odors, etc), call the NJDEP 24-hour Action Hotline: 1-877-WARNDEP (1-877-927-6337)

New Jersey Clean Energy Program:

The NEW JERSEY CLEAN ENERGY PROGRAM provides rebates to help consumers install solar electric systems in their homes. Solar power is an excellent source of high value, clean energy and program rebates make having solar energy a financially feasible alternative. For more information and to get started, call 1-877-786-5278.

Buying Property on Wetlands?

Thinking of buying or building on an area that may be considered wetlands? Get all the information you need by checking out the following NJ Department of Environmental Protection link.

Recent News:

Mysterious Bird Disease found in NJ: See more info at: https://wrnjradio.com/mysterious-bird-disease-found-in-new-jersey/    

Contact Personnel:

Carol Wagner  |  (201) 794-5327  |  Borough Hall Room #109  |  flec@fairlawn.org